Jay Gervasi, P.A. Attorney at Law
Get the help you need today 336-790-0157

What are some facts about North Carolina's workers' compensation?

When it comes to your health, you want to know that if you get hurt at work, it's covered by your employer. North Carolina's workers' compensation laws help protect you by making sure employers have workers' compensation insurance unless they are exempt.

How long do you have to report an injury on the job?

You have up to a month (30 days) to inform your employer that you've been hurt. In most cases, you should tell your employer about the injury as soon as possible. Your employer may already know that an accident took place if he or she was present at the time. It's still important for you to write a statement about what occurred and when it occurred.

How long do you have to file a claim for workers' compensation?

You have up to two years to file a claim. This helps individuals who don't know the full extent of their injuries or who need additional time to make a claim have time to do so.

Once you file a claim, how long do you need to wait for your benefits?

Benefits kick in after a seven-day waiting period in North Carolina. If you're unable to work for 21 days or longer, the benefits become retroactive back to the date of your injury.

Your attorney can help you with your claim. If you have a claim that has been denied, it's your right to file an appeal in an attempt to have your injury covered by your employer. Your attorney can help you make sure your appeal has all the necessary information.

Source: FindLaw, "North Carolina Workers' Compensation Laws," accessed April 20, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Building image

Office Location:
910 North Elm Street
Greensboro, NC 27401

Toll Free: 866-792-9182
Phone: 336-790-0157
Fax: 336-574-2541
Greensboro Law Office Map